How to be (less) Awkward:

If someone is trying, with good intentions, to make your life easier, you must say thank you even if they didn’t help you as much as you would have liked. If a small toddler tried to help you carry the laundry upstairs but ended up dropping most of it, you would still thank them for their effort. If a co-worker tried to help you by organizing some files but accidentally messed up a few, they still need to be thanked for their effort and their attempt to make your life easier.” – via www.smartprettyandawkward.com

I absolutely, positively, 100 percent HATE doing dishes. hate it. I’d rather scrub the bathtub, toilet and floors before doing dishes.

growing up, my mom would leave little post-it notes for me or my sister “Allie, do the dishes and take out kitchen garbage” seems like a simple, easy-enough task. nope. I’d start the dishes (after only a few minutes of groaning) and within 3 minutes my mom would be in telling me what I was doing wrong. “you need to fill the entire left side of the sink with water and let them soak before you do the dishes” “don’t let the water run constantly allison, it’s a waste” “these look good but, they’re really spotty… rinse them again”

AHHHH. no matter how you did the dishes in my house, you could never do them right! It got to the point where I couldn’t stand doing the dishes. I would throw a fit and come up with every excuse possible to try and get out of it.

Molly’s piece of advice from www.smartprettyandawkward.com reminds me of why I hate doing the dishes. Maybe if my mom had stopped for a minute (although I’m sure she’ll say she did… ) and just said thank you for doing the dishes, without adding in everything I was doing wrong, I might not dread the dishes so much!

(the whole thing also could’ve been solved if we had just had a dishwasher!!)

One response to “How to be (less) Awkward:

  1. Totally agree with you! Your post rings a lot of bells too… 😉

Leave a Reply

