A move to the windy city?

You know the way some people describe New York City? How from the first time they visited, they knew they were meant to go back, again and again and again? That’s how I feel about Chicago.

I don’t really know why, I’ve only visited once, but I love it. The idea of relocating to Chicago doesn’t overwhelm me, it excites me. Plus, it’s an added bonus that one of my best friends is a law student there ; )

What are your favorite things about Chicago? What should I know before deciding to take the plunge and relocating?

3 responses to “A move to the windy city?

  1. Speaking as the “best friend law student,” I must announce to all readers that i WHOLEHEARTEDLY ENDORSE THIS MOVE! Sorry to all you east-coasters, but this adorable blogger has it right- the midwest is the place to be. Now, I am a Pennsylvania transplant, but in the past year since I’ve moved to Chicago, I have completely fallen in love. This really is the “city of broad shoulders” and it somehow finds a way to strengthen and nurture all those who seek comfort and excitement along its Lake Michigan shore. Now that the weather is nice, I finally get it- this is a beautiful city. The lake, beaches, parks, concerts, sports, museums… it’s all gorgeous and accessible. Everything I need is within arms reach (except, sadly, several family members and my college friend contingency). Also, midwesterners are unbelievely friendly and polite, qualities that get lost in many east coast cities. I LOVE CHICAGO, and so will you!

    • Els, you’re awesome. I think you’re right.. it’s the friendly feel of the city that really has me hooked. Given my outgoing nature, I need a place where smiling and saying hi to strangers is the norm.

  2. donna striley

    You can not move to Chicago.
    Stay here.
    Grow where you are planted.

Leave a Reply

