6. Question The Voice That Says, “I’m Not Ready Yet.”

“I know, I know. Because you are so brilliant and have such high standards, you see every way that you could be more qualified. You notice every part of your idea that is not perfected yet. While you are waiting to be ready, gathering more experience, sitting on your ideas, our friends referenced in rule five are being anointed industry visionaries, getting raises, and seeing their ideas come to life in the world. They are no more ready than you, and perhaps less. Jump in the sandbox now, and start playing full out. Find out just how ready you are.”

The other day, Meghan linked to this list of 10 Rules for Brilliant Women. The above was number six. All of the rules are inspiring, but this stood out the most. I have a real issue with self doubt and this rule hits the nail on the head.

In high school I got straight As and was accepted to the top school for public relations in the country. I told myself I only got accepted because my parents were divorced and we didn’t have a lot of money… they had to fill the minority quota right?

In college my GPA was never below a 3.7 including a couple 4.0s.  I told myself I must’ve had really easy classes and lenient professors. When the company I was interning with offered me a full-time position after graduation, I figured it was because it was convenient for them and I’d work cheap.

But when my friends graduated summa cum laude and landed sweet jobs after graduation, I credited it to their hard-work and skill. Why can’t I do the same for myself?

I think know we’re always harder on ourselves than we are on others. But this can have some pretty bad side effects on both our personal and professional lives! One of my coworkers asked for a raise and got it. Me? I’ve been with the company for two years but I still feel like I don’t deserve a raise yet and there are a lot of things I need to do before I’d be qualified.

You never reach your full potential if you’re always putting yourself down.

How I should be thinking about all these things?

In highschool I was a hard-working nerd student who did her homework and earned a spot in a top college. In undergrad I put in the time and dedication to produce great work and make big strides forward. I was hired from an intern to full time because I do some pretty awesome work and my company wanted to keep me on the team. And now? Now I’m working my ass off and am learning to do not only what’s in my job description, but other things too.

Sometimes we need to look at things from another angle. Imagine it’s your friends life and you’re assessing her accomplishments. Seems a bit more impressive doesn’t it?

I’m going to try to step away from the self doubt and follow rule number six by jumping feet first into that sandbox and playing full out!

What about you?

4 responses to “6. Question The Voice That Says, “I’m Not Ready Yet.”

  1. “But when my friends graduated summa cum laude and landed sweet jobs after graduation, I credited it to their hard-work and skill. Why can’t I do the same for myself?”

    I am on JOB 2 – as in, two full-time job opportunities…as in, i got to leave the first job for a better offer elsewhere…and i moved out of my house 5 months after grad while most of my friends are living at home (some jobless). last night my therapist commented on how great that was and i said “yeah i got lucky” and he was like…i think it’s more than luck. and he’s right! i work hard (3/5 days of the week) and i have the resume to show for it. and now i’m crediting luck for that? lame.

    great post! hit home with me.

    • I know! It’s like, no luck doesn’t get you two full-time jobs soon after college and a ticket out of your parents house.. that’s all you! Luck only goes so far, it’s the talent and dedication that sustains it. Thanks for the comment : )

  2. ~ Be ready when opportunity comes…Luck is the time when preparation and opportunity meet. ~ Roy D. Chapin Jr.

Leave a Reply

