Do what you love, love what you do

The other day, my mom blogged about the importance of doing what you love and finding someone to pay you to do it. Easier said than done.

Lately, my friend T.I.* and I have been talking about how it is you find what you love, and get a job doing it. T.I. and I went to college together. We both got a job soon after graduation and were both incredibly excited and grateful (post-grad job hunt was terrible in 2009). He hit NYC and I stayed in Syracuse, NY near our alma mater.

Turns out, finding what you love involves more than just getting a job in your “major”. T.I. moved back home a few weeks ago (although he’s from Chicago, if it was my home I’d go back too) and left his job in the city. I’m still at my job but have some of the same concerns as him.

We’re both worried about choosing a path and getting so far down it only to realize one day it’s not what you even wanted. Or what if you take a job in a field you love but the people are terrible? Even now, I do great work with my company but I’m interested in working in PR one day (right now I do more marketing than PR). How do I get into PR if I have no agency experience… what if I get trapped in marketing?

It’s not as black and white as it seemed in college. How do you find the best fit for you without straying too far off course?

*name chosen due to his tendency to rap to T.I. during late-night karaoke sessions.

2 responses to “Do what you love, love what you do

  1. I feel like you make your own path & only get stuck if you choose to get stuck. Just because marketing is what you do in your day job doesn’t mean that it defines you and at this level, it’s relatively easy to make a jump from one portion of an industry to another. One piece of advice is that if you’re not sure exactly what you want to do, work at an agency with several different departments so you can switch if you feel the need/want to.

    Experience isn’t the end-all, be-all for future employment – if you’re interested in switching to PR, network with PR peeps and keep yourself “out there.” They always say you should start job hunting the day you start a new job – best to find something new while you’re already gainfully employed.

    Also, apparently the average american will have 7 careers in their life time! Just have fun finding out what you love, girl, the rest will fall into place!

    xoMeg

Leave a Reply

