Lose the guilt, say yes to you.

Here’s what I should’ve done tonight:

Here’s what I’m actually doing tonight:

that’s right. I chose to stay in, drink wine, watch re-runs of the office and feel sorry for myself that my boyfriend left for grad school today and I have to go through another year of long-distance.

But you know what? I’m happy I said no to the running and yes to a night of me. Sometimes we need to throw away our guilt and be content with the fact that we’re going to want lazy nights, we’re going to be sad sometimes and we’re going to choose the easy over the difficult.

Obviously this isn’t the way to live your life on a day-to-day basis (unless you want love handles and zero friendships) but on occasion, it can be a nice treat.

Do you take time for you?

9 responses to “Lose the guilt, say yes to you.

  1. Alvaro Fernandez-Ravelo

    Absolutely!

  2. I know what you need…. to come visit me!!!!

  3. Allie,
    This is how Granny got her start. Be careful.
    Aunt Donna
    lol 😉

  4. Love this. SO true. As I get older, I get more selfish. I’m not sure if it’s because I care less and less about making other people happy or more and more about making myself happy. Don’t be mistaken, I am selfless when it comes to those close to me but I no longer go out of my way to please acquaintances and other randoms like I used to. And you know what? I think a little selfishness makes it easier to be selfless when the situation calls for it. Doesn’t make much sense but it’s true.

    xoMeg

  5. Alvaro Fernandez-Ravelo

    I think it’s a matter of having a higher standard of hanging out. Going from hanging out just for the sake of it and getting together with the special friends which you can share and grow and also have a good laugh. Both are a must.

Leave a Reply

