Where do you get your motivation?

Discipline used to come easy to me. My bed was always made, my apartment spotless, my bills in order and my gym schedule on track.

For some reason I’ve lost that discipline over the last year and a half. At first I thought it was just the byproduct of falling into a new relationship and temporarily forgetting anything else matters. But that excuse is long gone and the motivation I once had is still M.I.A.

I’m lucky if I exercise once a week – and by exercise I mean take a walk around the neighborhood. I quit my gym because it just wasn’t worth paying for if I wasn’t going to go. My bed only gets made on the weekend if I have nothing to do and just can’t stand looking at it anymore. I constantly have a pile of clothes on my bedroom floor and my bills, while they get paid, are hardly as organized as they once were.

So what’s the deal? Motivation used to come so naturally to me. I know I’m happier when I’m on track and disciplined – shouldn’t that be enough?

I keep thinking I’ll snap out of it but I’m getting kind of sick of waiting!

Sure, small things give me a temporary boost of motivation (OMG,. GLEE season premier tomorrow night!!) or get me excited to try new things (Hellllo House Hunters, can’t wait to buy a home!). But those sparks are short lived. I need something permanent.

How do you get it back when you fall into a slump?

Leave a Reply

