emoticons = enthusiasm

If you haven’t figured out from my posts (which is highly unlikely) I have a serious issue with worry. Primarily, worry about my friendships and relationships. I am always terrified of making someone mad or letting someone down. Everyday I think someone is mad at me.

Not only is this unattractive, it’s not healthy either.

My roommate gets the worst of it. I told her over the summer that I constantly think she’s mad at me when we have conversations via text. Tonight I sent her a text and because she didn’t respond with an LOL, haha, or the proper emoticon, I immediately started thinking she’s mad at me.

This is a serious negative of our technology-driven society (and a major defect in my personality and confidence). How many times have you exchanged an e-mail with someone or texted and taken their tone completely different from how they meant it?

I think that’s why I over-use exclamation points and smiley faces… I feel like I need to validate my enthusiasm more-so when it’s through technology rather than face-to-face.

Do you find yourself doing this too? Or do you just e-mail and text as usual and drive people like me crazy thinking you’re mad at us ; ) ?

One response to “emoticons = enthusiasm

  1. What if a person never receives an e-mail or text from their neice? :/ (

Leave a Reply

