Thunderstorms? Don’t they know it’s my birthday?

For the past few years I’ve been fortunate enough to spend my birthday on Martha’s Vineyard with my best friends from home. We’re heading out tomorrow night to begin a long weekend of 24 birthday candles, lobster, sunshine, Mocha Mott’s coffee and, because Rachel is both mature and demanding, several applications of sunscreen.

The forecast looks a bit grim (what’s the opposite of a rain dance?) but I am sitll beside myself with excitement. Last year we packed nearly 10 of us in what was in no way bigger than a 10×10 room. This year, we’ve booked some hotel rooms and Matt will (hopefully) not be obligated to force himself onto Rachel’s twin-sized air mattress with her.

Have you been to Martha’s Vineyard? What are your favorite things to do while you’re there?

Rain Rain go away..

Festivities of previous years..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 responses to “Thunderstorms? Don’t they know it’s my birthday?

  1. The Vineyard is my favorite place on earth. I also get to spend my birthdays on vacation with friends! Last year was the Vineyard, this year is Maine.

    Some of my favorite things are:
    -Jumping in the waves at South Beach – it’s worth getting pelted by the rocks in the undertow
    -Ice cream from Ice Cream & Candy Bazaar in Edgartown
    -The Wharf Pub in Edgartown & The Lampost in OB are really fun at night
    -The Dirty Banana at Nancy’s in OB – they’re AMAZING
    -The Sand Bar in the afternoon – last year we sat at the bar and ordered Miami Vices – the bartender gave us all the extra in the blender for free!
    -Sitting on the dock in back of Larsen’s in Menemsha eating delicious seafood
    -Moshup Beach in Aquinnah is hands down my favorite… definitely check it out if you haven’t already!

  2. Ah, Magen you’re getting me SO excited! We’re staying in OB so the lampost and Nancy’s are definites.

  3. Hope you have a good time! LOVEYA!

  4. Sounds like the perfect birthday weekend for a 24yr old!

    Rachel, remind Allie about the sunscreen. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

